h1

Comic Bullets 07.02.08

July 4, 2008

Marvel 1985 #2 (Mark Millar and Tommy Lee Edwards)

This book makes me forgive Millar for his first FF arc with the lame-ass CAP robot. Marvel villains in the real world? What’s not to love? Also, the Hulk smells really bad apparently. Just puttin’ it out there.

Ultimates 3 #4 (Jeph Loeb and Joe Madureira)

This is always such a guilty pleasure to get. I’m sorry, but this book makes me feel dumb, yet I get it anyway. For the art. Flip through the pages and avoid the bubbles, you’ll get a much better story than if you actually read it. Trust me. I tried.

The Boys #20 (Garth Ennis and Darrick Robertson)

I always read this after a book I hate, coz it restores my faith in the medium. This week, I read it after Ultimates, and it brought my I.Q. back up to 30. I dig the conspiracy feel it’s exploring while still keeping the obscene jokes running. Completely different direction from the first arc, but it’s all escalation, and it’s great.

Secret Invasion: Frontline #1 (Brian Reed and GG Studios)

Remember Marvels? Kurt Busiek and Alex Ross’s comic about the man-on-the-street perspective? This is that, but with bigger explosions and less mopey moments. With Marvels, i found myself saying “Come on already…” with this, I actually heard myself go, “hold on, hold on!” I like this better than the main Secret Invasion book already.

4 comments

  1. I’ve been reading the “Frontline” books ever since Civil War. It’s good storytelling in the street level setting. No super powers, just plain human drama.


  2. Brian Reed should be writing Ultimates.


  3. No way! It should be Yani cause your the BEST!
    hehehe


  4. Well… thanks. You do realize I’m not a writer, right? Heh.



Leave a Reply

