h1

Bioshock On The Big Screen?

June 8, 2008

For those of you who don’t know Bioshock, die. No, really. Bioshock is an FPS game that came out toward the end of 2007 and shocked many with its incredible cinematic story telling. Its engaging and immersing story line coupled with it’s great graphics, sound, and game play made it one of the best, if not the best, single player FPS of 2007. If you haven’t played it, GET IT.

Over the last month, it was confirmed that Bioshock will, in fact, be made into a movie. It will be directed by Gore Verbinski. Some of the films directed by Verbinski include the Pirates of The Carribean Trilogy, The Mexican, and The Ring. The movie is set to be rated-R to stay true to the violence and gore in the game.

For those who want the full story: Joystiq Confirms Bioshock Movie

I must say, I’m a little skeptical because of the reputation that movies get when adapted from games. The only decent movie(non-CG) adaptation of games that I can think of is Silent Hill, and maybe Resident Evil, and that’s stretching it; however, I do think that Rapture, or Bioshock’s world, would make a very good setting for a movie. It will be difficult to make a first-person masterpiece into a third-person storytelling experience, but there’s always hope. I am looking forward to it, but I won’t be getting my hopes up too much. Technology has come a long way, and I’m hoping that they can utilize it to its fullest to bring out a real masterpiece.

-.xep

2 comments

  1. GRAH! BIOSHOCK! It sucks for having a POS PC that can’t run games post-2002.

    Also, Prince of Persia movie. I’m guessing they’ll make a fail out of it.


  2. Mwhahahaha. You should really invest in one, or at least a 360. Too many good games out there on the platform to not invest in one. I urge you! :p

    I’ve never been a big Prince of Persia fan. I played the old school 2d one, but haven’t touched it since then. I wouldn’t be surprised if they came out with an Assassin’s Creed movie, as well.



Leave a Reply

